Elyse's Blog



The Big Stuff. The God Stuff.

Sometimes it is easy to forget the big stuff. The God stuff. It’s just so easy to be consumed by school, and work, and wondering if you who love, loves you back. He doesn’t forget about us though, He’ll send us a shout out when we need it the most, which is precisely what happened to me earlier this week.

 Monday morning I caught the 10 A in front of my apartment at approx 6:30 am, already a mess thanks to a sleepless night spent stressing out over getting the necessary hours at my internship. I had discovered the previous night I had three less weeks than I thought to complete my hours. But I hopped the bus, headed to my internship, while carrying my copy of the DSM. I was planning on catching up on some reading on my lunch break. About 30 minutes later I got off the bus, without my DSM.

The DSM, as some of you all know, isn’t just a book, it is the Bible for Psychologists and Psychiatrists. So losing mine was bad. It had year’s worth of notes in it, plus I needed it to study for my Psychopathology exam in two weeks. Oh! And did I mention that it is kind of expensive?

I ran into my supervisor walking towards the entrance to the building who initially suggested I call Metro and ask them to have the driver pull my book so I could claim it from lost and found later that day. Yeah. That didn’t work. Metro’s phone people are not friendly. Then she suggested I go back down to the street and stop a bus going the opposite direction and ask if they would radio my driver and ask him to pull my book. About 30 seconds after I got to the bus stop a 10 B pulls up, and the bus driver stops and asks, “Did you leave your book on the bus this morning?”

“Yes!”

 Oh my gosh. In that moment I knew God was sending me a message. He has my back. And I am grateful.

You have to listen to this song. It is CCM at its best. The song is Awake and Alive by Skillet. Tune in around 2:30 if you want to skip of the singer’s introduction.


Leave a comment